Valley of the Sun Casual Club
Welcome to VOTSCC . Please enjoy the many features . You may login at anytime to be part of our community .
Valley of the Sun Casual Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Log in

I forgot my password

February 2024
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
26272829   

Calendar Calendar

Statistics
We have 473 registered users
The newest registered user is kathykali564

Our users have posted a total of 42499 messages in 6279 subjects
71 WGT TUTORIALS & 32 YOUNG46 TUTORIALS
CLICK HERE TO SEE OVER 100 YOUTUBE VIDEO TUTORIALS . FROM WGTers , WGT & YOUNG46
FORUM UPDATE
TO THE MANY WELCOME GUESTS . THIS FORUM IS NO LONGER A COUNTRY CLUB WEBSITE FOR A WGT COUNTRY CLUB . PLEASE FEEL FREE TO READ THE FORUMS.
THERE ARE MANY TOPICS OF INTEREST . OR NOT . THIS WEBSITE IS AN INFORMATION AND ENTERTAINMENT WEBSITE ONLY .
MUCH OF THE CONTENT IS ARCHIVES OF PURPOSES PAST .
THERE ARE SOME MORE CURRENT TOPICS .
REGISTRATION IS NOT NECESSARY TO READ THROUGHOUT .
REGISTRATION IS EASY AND FREE . THIS IS AN AD FREE WEBSITE . NOTHING IS EVER REQUESTED FROM REGISTERED MEMBERS .
REGISTRATION ENABLES COMMENTING ON TOPICS . POSTING NEW TOPICS . FULL ACCESS TO THE WEBSITE IMAGE HOST . WHICH IS A VERY COMPLETE AND CONVENIENT TOOL .
PLEASE ENJOY .

Bilko’s Putting Calc
Here is a link to Bilko's Putting Calc and Wind Calc
Just download and install
TIER & AVERAGE REQUIREMENTS
BASIC LEVEL AND AVERAGE REQUIREMENTS , AND SATURATION

WHILE YOUR HERE
WHILE YOUR HERE :
CHECK OUT THE INCREDIBLE PHOTOGRAPHY IN
MY SERIES

THIS USED TO BE THE HOME OF OUR WORLD CLOCK . WHICH CAN NOW BE FOUND IN ITS OWN FORUM ON THE MAIN PAGE ..
THERE ARE MORE WORLD CLOCKS INSIDE HERE .

WORLD CLOCK

FB Like

INFO VINE * 50 Photos of New Orleans' History *

Go down

INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * Empty INFO VINE * 50 Photos of New Orleans' History *

Post by Paul Mon 29 Jan 2024 - 6:42

50 Photos of New Orleans' History






INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 022e02b64034fd0f51ac81e8170c0ba8
Photo Courtesy: [John Norris Teunisson/Wikimedia Commons]
01.) 50 Must-See Photos of New Orleans' History
02.) These 50 Photos of New Orleans' History Will Shock You
03.) 50 Astonishing Photos of New Orleans' History
04.) 50 of the Most Amazing Images of Historic New Orleans
05.) 50 Photos of New Orleans' Past Like You’ve Never Seen
06.) 50 Stunning Photos of Historic New Orleans
07.) 50 Photos of New Orleans' History That Will Make You Gasp
08.) Have You Seen These 50 Photos of Historic New Orleans?
09.) Travel Back in Time with These 50 Photos of New Orleans
10.) 50 Captivating Photos of New Orleans' History

New Orleans is known globally for its "distinct music, Creole cuisine, unique dialect, and its annual celebrations and festivals, most notably Mardi Gras." Mark Twain agreed when he said, “An American has not seen the United States until he has seen Mardi Gras in New Orleans.” Monikers like "The Crescent City," "The Big Easy," "NOLA," "Little Paris," and "Hollywood South" further highlight the city's originality and intrigue.

In the spring of 1718, Jean-Baptiste Le Moyne founded New Orleans. He named it in honor of Philippe II, Duke of Orléans, the Prince Regent of France. The French colony of Louisiana was turned over to the Spanish Empire in the 1763 Treaty of Paris. After briefly belonging to France again in 1802, Napoleon famously sold the territory to the United States in the Louisiana Purchase in 1803.


Discover why New Orleans has been called the “most unique” city in the United States through these 50 historic photos. Take a virtual walk through the classic French Quarter. Enjoy the beauty and wonder that makes New Orleans stand out as a leader among its peers as you travel back in time through this gallery.


St. Louis Cathedral in New Orleans


The St. Louis Cathedral in New Orleans is the second oldest cathedral in continuous use in the United States. It is located next to Jackson Square in the French Quarter and facing the Mississippi River. The original church on the site was built in 1718. The third structure there, constructed in 1789, was raised to a cathedral rank in 1793. In 1819, Benjamin Henry Latrobe’s central tower was added, with "Victoire" embossed in the tower’s bell. Overall, St. Louis Cathedral’s rebuilding and expansions were completed in the 1850s, looking far different from the cathedral’s first designs.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 913b9ca16e10d069a2b9775438fde92a
Photo Courtesy: [Stephen Walker/Unsplash]


It is also known as the “Cathedral-Basilica of Saint Louis, King of France,” “Cathédrale Saint-Louis, Roi-de-France,” and “Catedral de San Luis.” The Cathedral is dedicated to Saint Louis, or King Louis IX of France, as he is also known. The St. Louis Cathedral is the seat of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of New Orleans.


Taking a Visit to the Historic French Quarter in New Orleans


The French Quarter is also known as the “Vieux Carré" and the “Barrio Francés.” After Jean-Baptiste Le Moyne de Bienville founded the city in 1718, the “Old Square" became its hub. New Orleans' French Quarter has been designated as a National Historic Landmark since December 21, 1965.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 482d2d9851a3a0ddeb26d3edb27db098
Photo Courtesy: [Sami99tr/Wikimedia Commons]


The thirteen blocks along the Mississippi River from Canal Street to Esplanade Avenue create the boundaries of the French Quarter. It also consists of about nine blocks inland to North Rampart Street. However, some definitions exclude properties facing Canal Street and the section between Decatur Street and the river. No matter where its boundaries lie, New Orleans' French Quarter is sure to impress.


The Louisiana Sugar & Rice Exchange, 1963


Sugar and Louisiana have been intertwined decades before Jean-Baptiste Le Moyne de Bienville founded New Orleans in 1718. His older brother, Pierre Le Moyne d’Iberville, is reported to have planted the first sugar cane in Louisiana. Sugar cane became a major Louisiana export around 1795. Jean Etienne de Boré had discovered a way to successfully recreate protocols for granulating cane juice in a subtropical environment the way it was done in the West Indies. By 1882, the area had an estimated 1,100 sugar mills in operation. The need for a sugar exchange came about as a result.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * A87701d9ed23415ea7b99f5d94b1ed79
Photo Courtesy: [Dan Leyrer/Wikimedia Commons]


Planters wanted to find more merchants and higher bids for their crops. They began to move the transactional end of the business from the plantations themselves into New Orleans. There, they sold to merchants who interacted with wholesalers and other buyers. Typically, that would mean trading with coffee houses and saloons connected with the hotel industry. Since a designated cotton exchange already existed, creating a similar place for Louisiana’s booming sugar and rice industry made sense. The Louisiana Sugar & Rice Exchange was built and was an integral part of the French Quarter riverfront area from 1884-1963.


New Orleans City Park


The New Orleans City Park, established in 1854, is one of the oldest urban parks in the United States. The park is called a “1,300-acre outdoor oasis,” with massive oak trees and lush moss canopies dating back several decades. In fact, City Park is home to a grand oak tree that has existed for nearly 800 years. It hosts the “world’s largest stand of mature live oaks” and is known for limbs that are twice as long as the trees are tall.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 53167f1082cb01b748b1ad3113af3f7d
Photo Courtesy: [Keenan Barber/Unsplash]


The Great Depression during the 1930s prompted the Roosevelt Administration to begin a project that would become the catalyst for several works of art found throughout the park. In a massive effort to infuse the nation with much-needed economic relief, $12 million was invested. New roadways, artwork, the Tad Gormley Stadium, and fountains were created in New Orleans City Park as a result of the Works Progress Administration (W.P.A.) Roosevelt initiated.


Louis Armstrong, 1955


Louis Armstrong’s career spanned over five decades, from the 1920s to the 1960s. His love of music, however, dates back to 1907, when Armstrong heard "spasm bands" in Storyville for the first time. He was fascinated by these groups that played music out of regular household objects.


Before turning eleven years old, Armstrong played what was thought to be his first live musical performance. He started out playing a tin horn to attract customers to merchandise for sale by the Karnoffskys, a family who had taken him in and treated him as one of their own children. Morris Karnoffsky helped Armstrong purchase a cornet from a pawn shop soon after. When looking back on his early days, he once said, "Every time I close my eyes blowing that trumpet of mine -- I look right in the heart of good old New Orleans ... It has given me something to live for."


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 2c0fff1af7e04071ea98b2b7860a725f
Photo Courtesy: [Herbert Behrens /Anefo/Nationaal Archief/Wikimedia Commons]


He took his childhood interests into adulthood and made a career out of them. Armstrong became well-known for being "virtually the first to create significant variations based on the chord harmonies of the songs instead of merely on the melodies." He was also famous for experimenting with the way objects enhanced his instruments and the sounds they made. In fact, Louis Armstrong has been called "the only figure who completely changed the way people played music on their instruments and the way people sang."


Pastel Buildings in New Orleans


“When you walk down the streets of New Orleans, you’re walking in poetry,” photographer Que Duong said of the city. The historic French Quarter exhibits the culture of celebrating life that New Orleans thrives on. The pastel buildings contribute to the plethora of reasons why it’s been called the “most unique” city in the United States. And, the famous hues have a story of their own to tell.



INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 20f4cd51fd48cdafe261c665a9c41937
Photo Courtesy: [Arun Kuchibhotla/Unsplash]


The Spanish called for the construction of the iconic pastel buildings found throughout the Vieux Carré. After nearly 80 percent of the area was destroyed by the Great New Orleans Fire of 1788 and a second blaze in 1794, they called for a new building code. The wooden buildings were to be replaced with “masonry structures which had courtyards, thick brick walls, arcades, and wrought-iron balconies.” The stucco coverings on the brick buildings were painted pastel, in the style that was prominent in Spain at the time.




An Aerial View of New Orleans' Central Business District


The Central Business District (CBD) was the city’s first expansion beyond its original French Quarter. After the Louisiana Purchase in 1803, people from other parts of the United States poured into New Orleans. Heavy investments were made to the district as a result. The CBD was referred to as the “American Sector” at the time because of the massive influx of newcomers from other parts of the country.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 89ed8a921cfd617dd2af84b542fe69c4
Photo Courtesy: [Kool C/Unsplash]


The CBD is home to several of New Orleans’ best-known structures. One Shell Square, New Orleans’ tallest building, is among them. It is the headquarters for Royal Dutch Shell’s Gulf of Mexico Exploration and Production. Both the current city hall and the original Gallier Hall are built in the CBD, as well. The Mercedes-Benz Superdome and the Smoothie King Center also add to the list of attractions in the area. Finally, Lafayette Square acts as a hub for the Central Business District. Its name was changed from “Place Gravier” after Marquis Lafayette visited New Orleans in 1825.


Hotel Monteleone in the French Quarter


The family-owned and operated Hotel Monteleone includes the only high-rise building in the interior French Quarter. The hotel is distinguished as a historic New Orleans landmark, a member of Historic Hotels of America, a Preferred Hotel Group member, and a member of the Associated Luxury Hotels International. Hotel Monteleone was also designated as one of only three hotels in the country that is an official literary landmark by the Friends of the Library Association.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 39397f9d8b405616206490d30331fd90
Photo Courtesy: [Bec Asmar/Unsplash]


Authors Ernest Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, John Grisham, Truman Capote, William Faulkner, Anne Rice, and Stephen Ambrose have all been famed guests of the Hotel Monteleone. Hemingway’s short story, "Night before the Battle," mentions the hotel. It is also said that Faulkner loved it so much that he spent his honeymoon there. He also wrote The Sound and the Fury during a stay at the Hotel Monteleone. The Rose Tattoo, written by Tennessee Williams, was yet another piece of literature created in the renowned hotel.


Street Painter in Downtown New Orleans, Louisiana 


It’s been said that “Jackson Square without artists would be like red beans without rice.” Every year, New Orleans issues 200 permits for artists to line the sidewalks and fences around Jackson Square with their art. Some have been showcasing their pieces in the area for decades.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 395849f576b6e393472103727a0f93e1
Photo Courtesy: [Madison Friel/Unsplash]


One such artist, Elaine Cummins, grew up with a family tradition of showcasing art in Jackson Square. Both of Cummins’ parents were regular contributors to the creative atmosphere downtown. Artist C.C. Miranda has had a spot on the list since 2001. Yet another long-time Jackson Square artist, MOUSIE, joined in 1977. No matter how many years any of the 200 annual artists have under their belts, their contributions help make Jackson Square the iconic location it is.


The Cornstalk Hotel in the New Orleans French Quarter


The Cornstalk Hotel, built in 1834, is one of the most recognizable places to visit in New Orleans. It has a rich history all of its own. The first Attorney General for the state and Chief Justice of the Louisiana Supreme Court, François Xavier Martin, was the hotel’s original owner.

Its iconic wrought-iron fence was added after Martin sold it to Colonel Robert Henry Short. It is said that his wife was homesick for her birthplace, Iowa. So, Colonel Short commissioned the building of a fence designed to look like stalks of corn. In the late 1800s, he had a similar fence built at the location serving as his villa, 1448 Fourth Street in the Garden District.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 902b87ba7579119512c6cc830b05f7aa
Photo Courtesy: [hypnohigh/Pixaby]


The Cornstalk Hotel is honored with a spot on the National Register of Historic Places. Many famous people have graced its doors over the years. Harriet Beecher Stowe, Elvis Presley, Bill and Hillary Clinton, Liz Taylor, Paul Newman, and Richard Burton are among its best-known guests.


A View of Woldenberg Park from the Mississippi River


Woldenberg Park is a 14-acre park located along the Mississippi Riverfront, in the upper French Quarter. The park is home to the main stages of the French Quarter Festival every April. Visitors can enjoy a taste of some of New Orleans’ best music in Woldenberg Park year-round, too. The outdoor amphitheater holds several smaller concerts throughout the year.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 2d318aa9c4b208ca3394a9c35267dec4
Photo Courtesy: [Hunter Desportes/Wikimedia Commons]


The park is named in honor of Malcolm Woldenberg, an active civic leader, businessman, and philanthropist. Woldenberg moved to New Orleans in 1941 with his business partner, Newman Goldring. He founded the Magnolia Marketing Company in 1944 with Newman Goldring and his son, Stephen Goldring. The name was later changed to the “Republic National Distributing Company” before its current name, the “Sazerac Company.”


Interior of the Carousel Piano Bar and Lounge


The Carousel Piano Bar and Lounge has been a classic part of the Hotel Monteleone since the bar opened in 1950. Truman Capote, author of 1958’s Breakfast at Tiffany's and more, was rumored to tell other patrons of the Carousel that he was born inside the Hotel Monteleone itself. Author Eudora Welty wrote about it in her short story, “The Purple Hat.” Hollywood stars Brendan Fraser and Michael Keaton filmed scenes from The Last Time here. Later, the movie Girls Trip, featuring actresses Queen Latifah, Regina Hall, Jada Pinkett-Smith, and Tiffany Hadish, was also filmed inside the Carousel Piano Bar and Lounge.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * E9edd873f09debbff3b32ae3c261578a
Photo Courtesy: [Chris.j.cook/Wikimedia Commons]


The motto of the Carousel is, “We’ve been spinning for over 70 years.” The 25-seat, circus-themed Merry-Go-Round bar, along with its comprehensive list of cocktails, earned it a spot on Vogue Living’s “Top 20 Bars in the World” list. Live New Orleans music also makes this spot one of the city’s biggest attractions for visitors.


Outside Pat O'Brien's Bar in New Orleans


Pat O'Brien's Bar has been a part of New Orleans' history before it became a legal liquor establishment on December 3, 1933. It was originally known as "Mr. O'Brien's Club Tipperary" during the Prohibition era. Those wishing to enter were required to use the password, "storm's brewin'." The world-famous Hurricane cocktail originated in Pat O'Brien's Bar during the 1940s, the bar's signature drink served in a glass resembling a hurricane lamp.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 60e25ccfdd1311915073e9bf53558ca3
Photo Courtesy: [Peter Dutton/Wikimedia Commons]


Those visiting Pat O'Brien's in its current building, constructed in 1791, can choose from three bar areas to enjoy. The Main Bar, the Patio, or the Piano Lounge. The Main Bar is said to have "the feel of an old-fashioned private gentlemen’s club," though all are welcome. The 4,000 square foot Patio is home to the Flaming Fountain, which resembles a champagne glass and boasts a brilliant flame amid streams of water. Finally, the Piano Lounge includes two baby grand pianos that "duel" for listeners' attention with their modified ragtime performances. 


Balcony of the Pedesclaux-Lemonnier House


The Pedesclaux-Lemonnier House has been called New Orleans' “first skyscraper” because it was an entire story taller than the surrounding buildings at the time. It was placed on the Louisiana Landmarks Society’s nine most endangered buildings list at one point. This wasn't the first time the Pedesclaux-Lemonnier House was steeped in stories, though. Many a tale exists about residents who were afraid to walk near the building or drive carriages down Royal Street. Why? Because they feared that the vibration on its then-swampy soil would cause the building to tumble down.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 85af49b88cc41980bc806c07adfb1f30
Photo Courtesy: [Carol M. Highsmith/Prints and Photographs Division/Library of Congress/Wikimedia Commons]


Pictured above, the balcony of the Pedesclaux-Lemonnier House is decorated for Mardi Gras. The expression, "Let the good times roll!" originates from the Mardi Gras slogan, "Laissez les bons temps rouler!" Festive decorations throughout New Orleans, like the ones adorning the Pedesclaux-Lemonnier House's balcony, help bring this spirit to life throughout the city.


The Cabildo in Jackson Square, New Orleans


The Cabildo was declared a National Historic Landmark in 1960. The original building dates back to 1780 when it was the seat of the Spanish colonial city hall of New Orleans. In 1803, it served as the site of the Louisiana Purchase transfer ceremonies and was still used by the New Orleans city council until the mid-1850s.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 11aef2fa240460bd1c0933cc65242ba8
Photo Courtesy: [Jared422/Wikimedia Commons]


The building is named for those who initially used it, the "Illustrious Cabildo." It became the Louisiana State Museum in 1911. A new exhibition, We Love You, New Orleans!, was created inside the museum to commemorate the city’s 300th anniversary. Visitors to The Cabildo can view this exhibit "celebrating people, places, and things that are quintessentially New Orleans."


Rex Arrived for Mardi Gras on the USRC Galveston


The Rex Organization’s roots trace back to 1872, when his Imperial Highness, the Grand Duke of Russia, was visiting the United States. He wanted to go to Mardi Gras in New Orleans, so the Krewe of in Grand Duke Alexis Romanoff. They played the song "If Ever I Cease to Love" in the Rex parade of 1872, and it has been the Carnival’s anthem ever since.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 791406312bb98e28944496fdddd8fb3a
Photo Courtesy: [U.S. Coast Guard/Wikimedia Commons]


The USRC Galveston, pictured above, was built in 1891 by Reeder and Sons in Baltimore, Maryland. This 185' 3" long cutter steamship was renamed “Apache” on December 30, 1900. The U.S. Navy acquired it in April of 1917 and called it the “USAS Apache” when it was returned to duty for WWII.

After the USRC Galveston brought Rex to Mardi Gras around 1900, it went on to carry the message of another notable individual. In mid-1944, along the coast of Sydney, Australia, it was converted into a radio transmitter ship. It was from this location that General Douglas MacArthur's "I Have Returned" speech was broadcasted from the USAS Apache on October 20, 1944.


A New Orleans Courtyard Fountain


As you stroll through New Orleans, you will see ornate courtyard fountains like the one pictured below. During the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, courtyards were used for loading and unloading carriages or a general workplace for manual labor of any type. Today, a courtyard is thought of as a beautiful oasis for leisure. Now, additions like fountains and other works of art are woven into these havens throughout the French Quarter.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * A8e46ca10062c6eaa9f46731af56ae48
Photo Courtesy: [christina rutz/Wikimedia Commons]


Although there are many private courtyards in the Vieux Carré, visitors have plenty of options to enjoy public ones. Some of the best-known are found at places like Pat O'Brien's, The Historic New Orleans Collection, the Beauregard-Keyes House, the Hermann-Grima Historic House, and the French Market Inn. Author Ann Rice said, "In the spring of 1988, I returned to New Orleans, and as soon as I smelled the air, I knew I was home. It was rich, almost sweet, like the scent of jasmine and roses around our old courtyard. I walked the streets, savoring that long lost perfume."


Wilkinson Alley in the French Quarter, New Orleans


Wilkinson Alley is a one-block-long street in the French Quarter of New Orleans. It is also known as “Jefferson Street” and “Wilkinson Street”. Visitors have close access to the Cabildo, Jackson Square, and the New Orleans Pharmacy Museum. While visiting Wilkinson Alley, hungry guests can easily find classics like the New Orleans Creole Cookery, the Court of Two Sisters, the Gumbo Shop, the Tableau, and the Café Maspero.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * Ec4cded27dc015b67ebfa18ee961a701
Photo Courtesy: [Infrogmation of New Orleans/Wikimedia Commons]


Wilkinson Alley is named after former American soldier and statesman James Wilkinson. During the Quasi-War in the late 1790s, Wilkinson was given the third-place rank in the U.S. Army behind George Washington and Alexander Hamilton. In 1805, he was appointed to be the first Governor of the Louisiana Territory.


Krewe of Iris Parade


In classical Greek mythology, Iris was the goddess of the rainbow, sea, and sky, and she served as the messenger to the gods. The Krewe of Iris dates back to 1917. Since their first parade in 1959, it has grown to over 3,400 members. It is both the oldest and one of the largest female Carnival organizations for women.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 18f67fc8caf6a6be4db80578f26abb2d
Photo Courtesy: [Miguel Discart/Wikimedia Commons]


The parade is known for its 34 tandem floats and unique throws. The Krewe of Iris throws an array of items including beads, cups, doubloons, and Iris-themed items. They are also famous for their hand-decorated sunglasses and King Cake babies.


Lundi Gras on Bourbon Street, New Orleans


Lundi Gras began in 1874. The name is French for "Fat Monday," part of the Shrove Monday events held during Mardi Gras in New Orleans. Journalist Errol Laborde, along with the Riverwalk Marketplace and its marketing director at the time, Carol Thistle Lentz, breathed new life into the festival in 1987. They revived the tradition of Rex, king of the New Orleans Carnival, and Zulu King arriving by boat. Laborde went on to write Krewe: The Early New Orleans Carnival from Comus to Zulu in its honor.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 2785226dff68112cdfde0a1dcd2595d4
Photo Courtesy: [Nick Solari/Wikimedia Commons]


Both the king of the Zulu Social Aid & Pleasure Club and the mayor of New Orleans join in on the event. The mayor salutes the two Carnival monarchs and turns over symbolic control of New Orleans for the following day. The city joins locations around the world that celebrate Shrove Monday under different names. It is also known as "Collopy Monday," "Rose Monday," "Merry Monday," and "Hall Monday" throughout the world.


Le Petit Théâtre du Vieux Carré


Le Petit Theatre du Vieux Carré, meaning "The Little Theater of the Old Square," has its origins in 1916. A group of neighbors began meeting in a local actor's drawing room and fittingly began calling themselves the "Drawing Room Players." They created a place where amateurs could learn the art of acting and sharpen their skills. Their audiences grew in size until the group decided they needed to rent a larger space for their performances.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 1b3c22f2aeb8a200f3673f97c9cbc55e
Photo Courtesy: [Infrogmation/Wikimedia Commons]


When Irish playwright Edward John Moreton Drax Plunkett, 18th Baron of Dunsany, visited New Orleans he launched the new playhouse off officially. Its current structure incorporates a 1790s colonial building on the corner of St. Peter and Chartres Streets in the French Quarter. In 1922, architect Richard Koch designed the theatre in authentic Spanish Colonial style. Le Petit has since been recognized as one of the leading community theaters in the nation.


Classic New Orleans Style


New Orleans is home to some of the most decorative styles in the United States. The city celebrates life through its stunning architecture, music, cuisine, clothing, and entertainment. Author Ruta Sepetys said, "New Orleans is unlike any city in America. Its cultural diversity is woven into the food, the music, the architecture - even the local superstitions. It's a sensory experience on all levels and there's a story lurking around every corner."


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 3b7621eedceec8ea62b27918215f3ba3
Photo Courtesy: [Evershot/Unsplash]


Other famous people have been influenced by the city's style, as well. Author Hunter Murphy said, "Even the sidewalks in New Orleans had personality." The author of the manifesto, Why New Orleans Matters, shared the sentiment. Tom Piazza once said, "New Orleans is a city of elegance, beauty, and refinement.” The Crescent City, as it is also called, is full of charm and memorable moments to be had.


Carondelet Street in New Orleans, circa 1900-1906


Carondelet Street in New Orleans is named after the 1790s Spanish colonial governor, Francisco Luis Héctor de Carondelet. The street is filled with a prestigious history. The 3600 block of the Milan district has been called "one of the most striking blocks in the city." The section near Canal Street was once the center of the cotton trade in New Orleans. 

The Carondelet line of streetcars, like the one pictured below, ran from July 29, 1866, to September 7, 1924. This line of streetcars belonged to the St. Charles Street Railroad Company, which later became part of the "St. Charles Avenue line." It is the oldest continuously operating streetcar line in the world.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 9507ed329b8d50d815b3840cf4d39518
Photo Courtesy: [Detroit Publishing Co./American Memory/Prints and Photographs Division/Library of Congress]


Pictured above, a sign advertises "New Jackson Square Cigars." New Orleans was considered the cigar manufacturing capital of the United States in the latter part of the 19th century and the beginning of the 20th century. In fact, one of the city's tobacco manufacturers, La Belle Creole Cigar and Tobacco Company, became the second-largest tobacco manufacturing company in the country and well-known all over the world.

This photo also shows a sign for a winter race meeting of the Crescent City Jockey Club. The Crescent City Derby ran from 1894-1908. The Louisiana Derby is thought to be preceded by the Crescent City Derby for 3-year-olds. In 1973, the Crescent City Derby for Louisiana-bred 3-year-olds returned permanently.


Paddle Steamer on the Mississippi River off New Orleans 


Steamboats have been a part of the waters around New Orleans since the first one docked there in 1812. The New Orleans Steamboat Company has been transporting passengers along the Mississippi River since 1817. Retired Steamer Captain Clarke "Doc" Hawley mused, "They say the river is eternal. To me, it's eternally new. As a steamboat man, I've seen in every light and all weathers. But, I've never lost my sense of wonder at its power and majesty, and it was it seems to touch something special in the American spirit."


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 30ef94374301dc7fc545d1e8068514a6
Photo Courtesy: [Stephen Walker/Unsplash]


The very first paddle steamer dates back to 1704. French physicist Denis Papin created a steam engine on a ship that was mechanically linked to paddles. The world's first steam cylinder was poured into an iron foundry at Veckerhagen by the physicist after his initial design proved to be a success.


The Gallier House, 1935


The Gallier House, completed in 1857, is located at 1132 Royal Street in New Orleans, Louisianna. It was placed on the National Register of Historic Places on February 15, 1974, for its connection with renowned local architect James Gallier Junior. (His father was a New Orleans architect before him.) The house is also known for its courtyard garden and beautiful carriageway.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 3d1b19a259230a87ae8e8702d8a36348
Photo Courtesy: [Gottscho-Schleisner, Inc./American Memory/Prints and Photographs Division/Library of Congress]


Unlike much of the cast iron used throughout the French Quarter, bought from catalogs, Gallier Jr. designed his home's cast iron himself. He is also responsible for the designs of the Third Christ Church Cathedral, the Leeds Iron Foundry, the Gallier House, the French Opera House, and the Luling Mansion. His designs are said to "exemplify architectural features that are not only unique to New Orleans but also innovative and advanced for the period."
Paul
Paul
Admin
Admin

Posts : 39889
Join date : 2013-05-06

https://www.valleyofthesuncc.com

Back to top Go down

INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * Empty Re: INFO VINE * 50 Photos of New Orleans' History *

Post by Paul Mon 29 Jan 2024 - 6:42

Willow Walk in New Orleans' Lafayette Cemetery No. 1 


Willow Walk is a section of the Lafayette Cemetery No. 1 in the Garden District of New Orleans. This is one of the oldest city-governed cemeteries. It is named for the suburb of New Orleans it used to be, called "the City of Lafayette." Some of the first settlers from Ireland and Germany are resting here within the cemetery's nearly 500 wall vaults.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * E5ccff962666d3a4a445c672c0e502e9
Photo Courtesy: [Mike Tilley/Wikimedia Commons]


This enchanting place has been a part of New Orleans' history since 1833. Lafayette Cemetery No. 1 has been the location for the filming of several movies including Interview with the VampireDouble JeopardyDracula 2000Black and BlueDeja Vu, and Jonah Hex. Author Anne Rice, a one-time resident of the Garden District, also used the location for theatrics while promoting her 1995 novel, Memnoch the Devil


N.E. Saul's Grocery and Sandwich Shop, New Orleans, 1936


N.E. Saul's Grocery and Sandwich Shop was on the corner of Prytania and Caliope Street. The store window below posted the prices for common goods found within its walls. Contadina tomato paste was sold for five cents. Big R tomatoes, a trademarked brand of Roberts Brothers, Inc., could be purchased at two for 15 cents. Customers could also buy corn and green beans at three for 25 cents here in 1936. 


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 473f1160ff7e14b1501e1f940425512e
Photo Courtesy: [Walker Evans/Farm Security Administration/American Memory/Prints and Photographs Division/Library of Congress]


The delivery truck in front of N.E. Saul's Grocery and Sandwich Shop was from the Dixie Baking Company. The original baking company existed from around 1920-1951. Another hanging sign on the building in the photo above advertises Luzianne coffee and tea. 

Those wishing to taste the same classic flavor from the iced tea found inside N.E.Saul's can still do so. According to Ron Emonet, "The recipe we created in the 1930s has remained unchanged. We have not changed the blend over time. We're very protective."


Gallier Hall, New Orleans


Architect James Gallier Sr. created Gallier Hall, which was built from 1845-1853. The Tuckahoe marble structure, with its two rows of fluted Ionic columns, showcases a Greek Revival style of architecture. In 1974, it was designated a National Historic Landmark.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * A0fcd172f9a34e2c8e646ae543725590
Photo Courtesy: [Yair-haklai/Wikimedia Commons]


It was the city hall building for a little over a decade. After that, Gallier Hall stood as a place for special civic functions such as mayoral inaugurations. Sometimes, distinguished citizens lie in state here following their death. The city has paid respect to people like President Jefferson Davis, local R&B musician Ernie K-Doe, and General Pierre Gustave Toutant-Beauregard. 


The Historic Warehouse District of New Orleans at Sunset


The Warehouse District is home to classic buildings such as the National WWII Museum and the Ogden Museum of Southern Art. In its early days, during the 1830s, residential/commercial mixed-use properties made up most of the district's structures. Soon, retail and wholesale stores, cotton and sugar presses and warehouses, iron foundries, and light manufacturing facilities all sprang up. The commerce of the Port of New Orleans influenced the happenings in the Warehouse District.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * Bde08942b684f34bde6a3bba4363b369
Photo Courtesy: [Payton Chung/Wikimedia Commons]


Pictured above is a view over the top of federal buildings in the Warehouse District. It was taken from the roof of a garage on Tchoupitoulas Street, another part of the Central Business District. The Warehouse District is located close to the Mississippi River.

The city used the 1984 Louisiana World Exposition they held to help save the district after it had fallen into a state of disrepair. The theme of the fair was "The World of Rivers -- Fresh Waters as a Source of Life." It was held from May 12, 1984, through Sunday, November 11, 1984.


French Opera House Advertisement for "Il Trovatore," circa 1890-1891


In his 1982 book, A Short History of New Orleans, Mel Leavitt wrote, "If family was the center of (Creole New Orleans') universe, then the French Opera House was both its moon and sun." While operas like "Il Trovatore" were its staple form of entertainment, the French Opera House was also the location for Carnival balls, debuts, and wedding receptions. A variety of local events were held there throughout the year.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 0c1748a45feefaec93bdd702666a072d
Photo Courtesy: [William Henry Jackson/Detroit Publishing Co./Library of Congress/Wikimedia Commons]


New Orleans' French Opera House was built in 1859. It was the first opera house in the United States. James Gallier Sr. designed this building that was called the "cultural center of New Orleans for 60 years."


Spanish Plaza Fountain, New Orleans


The plaza was dedicated to New Orleans by Spain in 1976. The dedication was "in remembrance of their common historical past and as a pledge of fraternity in the future." The Spanish Plaza Fountain, pictured below, sits at the center and is surrounded by tiled mosaic benches honoring the seals of the provinces of Spain. The plaza is located at the foot of the New Orleans' 1965 World Trade Center, towards the end of Canal Street.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 2bf682e7c90a9ece645147ef4e37bf6a
Photo Courtesy: [David Ohmer/Wikimedia Commons]


The original name for this landmark was the "Eads Plaza," after James Buchanan Eads. He was a 19th-century civil engineer known for creating a jetty system. Eads' system greatly improved navigation of the Mississippi River between New Orleans and the Gulf of Mexico.


The Beauregard-Keyes House, New Orleans


The Beauregard-Keyes House is a National Historic Landmark and the only museum of its type open to the public. The Creole and American features of this raised cottage were designed by François Correjolles. Author Frances Parkinson Keyes began restoring this 1826 structure in 1948. The original details and architecture in the historic Beauregard-Keyes House and garden remain primarily the same today through the efforts of Keyes.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 883dcf8af52178b096175c8806162ca0
Photo Courtesy: [Infrogmation of New Orleans/Wikimedia Commons]


The museum is named after two of its famous former residents. General Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard lived at 1113 Chartres Street from 1866-1868. After his military career, General Beauregard was known for civil rights activism, time served as a railroad executive, and promoting the Louisiana Lottery. 

The other half of its name comes from Frances Parkinson Keyes. She wrote many books, including The Chess Players. The Beauregard-Keyes House was built by the grandfather of chess master Paul Morphy. Her book details the early construction and habitation of the home.


The Industrial Canal and Claiborne Avenue Bridge, New Orleans


The Industrial Canal connects the Mississippi River to Lake Pontchartrain in New Orleans. The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and NOAA nautical charts refer to this 5.5-mile-long canal as the "Inner Harbor Navigation Canal."  The Spanish colonial-era Carondelet Canal was a precursor to the Industrial Canal. However, the varying levels of the river and lake proved to be a hurdle that was not overcome in the colonial times of 1763–1803. In 1914, the Louisiana State Government authorized the Port of New Orleans to build a deep-water shipping canal. The canal's opening dedication ceremony took place on  May 5, 1923.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 137e7e6e90c7edab9996b284c4db5d33
Photo Courtesy: [Michael Maples/U.S. Army Corps of Engineers/Wikimedia Commons]


The Claiborne Avenue Bridge, built by the Louisiana Department of Highways, opened to vehicular traffic in 1957. It is a vertical-lift bridge that holds four lanes of traffic and allows most marine traffic to pass underneath it while in the down position. The Upper 9th Ward is on the western side of the bridge. The Lower 9th Ward sits on the eastern, or "lower," side, so-named because it is down-river from the western end. 


Interior of the Saenger Theatre


When the Saenger Theatre opened on February 4, 1927, the price of a ticket for a silent movie or a stage place was 65 cents. Theatre-goers could also enjoy listening to music performed by the Saenger Grand Orchestra. From its very beginning, this was a place with a unique atmosphere. The Robert Morton theatre organ, with approximately 2000-pipes, was designed specifically for the acoustics of the Saenger. 


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 6584614496ea9746c83aa6294b17959c
Photo Courtesy: [Noah Kern/Affablebeef/Wikimedia Commons]


Architect Emile Weil provided a breath-taking backdrop for any event put on there. He arranged 150 lights in the ceiling, in the shape of constellations of the night sky. Images of moving clouds, sunrises, and sunsets across the theatre's interior also added to its splendor through the use of special effects machines.

The New Orleans Landmark Commission designated it as a historic landmark on September 29, 1977. Three months later, the Saenger Theatre was added to the National Register of Historic Places. Also of note, Julian and Abe Saenger's theatre empire got its start in this location. It remains among a handful of Saenger movie palaces in existence. 


A Green Streetcar and a Pedicab on Canal Street, New Orleans


The Canal Street line of streetcars in New Orleans, like the one pictured below, is among five lines that still run in the city. The Pontchartrain Railroad Company brought the first rail service lines to New Orleans on April 23, 1831. A blend of inter-city and suburban railroad lines, along with horse-drawn or mule-drawn omnibuses, followed by September 27, 1832. 

Of the five, the St. Charles Avenue line is the only service line that has operated continuously since the city's first use of streetcars. Public buses replaced the majority of the streetcar lines from the late 1940s through the early 1960s. The city government protected the St. Charles Avenue line, at the request of preservationists, by granting it historic landmark status.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 5b772078c9cb6851d78045fea11d9abf
Photo Courtesy: [prayitno/Flickr: Green Car on Canal Street/Wikimedia Commons]


Pedicabs, like the one pictured above, mostly run along the Canal Street downtown corridor, the French Quarter, Faubourg Marigny, and the Garden District areas. The city licenses all its pedicab drivers, many of which are also licensed tour guides. Pedicabs rides are available from the early morning hours through midnight on weeknights and later hours on the weekend.


Louis Armstrong Park, New Orleans Jazz National Historical Park


New Orleans is nicknamed the "Birthplace of Jazz." The park pictured below is named after its hometown jazz legend, Louis Armstrong. Appropriately, the park hosted the first New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival, or simply "Jazz Fest," in 1970.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * B937cd0c669035a5de2e9c2779e8d82c
Photo Courtesy: [Jerrye & Roy Klotz, MD/Wikimedia Commons]


The 32-acre park is a treasure-trove of historic features. It is home to iconic monuments like a 12-foot statue of Louis Armstrong, a bust of saxophonist Sidney Bechet, and a statue of trumpeter Buddy Bolden. The New Orleans Municipal Auditorium, the French Opera House, the Jazz Compound, the Mahalia Jackson Theater for the Performing Arts, and the Rose Garden all add to the lively atmosphere found at Louis Armstrong Park.


Café du Monde in Vieux Carré, New Orleans


The Café Du Monde Coffee Stand has a long-running history. In 1813, the building which houses it was constructed to replace its 1771 Spanish predecessor. The original café was established in 1862 in the New Orleans French Market. It has been open to customers 24/7 ever since, serving its signature café au lait and beignets.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 8f71fbab3f53894ab4f4859ebe98d133
Photo Courtesy: [Richard A. Weaver/Wikimedia Commons]


The name "Café Du Monde" is French for "Café of the World." The menu only includes "dark-roasted coffee with chicory (served black or au lait), beignets, white and chocolate milk, hot chocolate, and fresh-squeezed orange juice." New Orleans Creoles developed the traditional chicory-blended coffee, which adds a chocolate-like flavor to the famous coffee stand's café au lait.


Intricate Ironwork in the New Orleans Garden District


It is said that filigree ironwork, like the one shown below, is "one of the most iconic features of New Orleans architecture." The Garden District, the French Quarter, and St. Charles Avenue are filled with beautiful examples of this classical adornment. The French fleur-de-lis, coquilles, leafy patterns, and floral designs are the most common styles of ironwork found here, patterned off of Spanish architecture.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * E0bef3982d89cc72153cd8533c4ee54e
Photo Courtesy: [Jlmachlin/Wikimedia Commons]


Before the mid-1800s, balconies and porches throughout New Orleans were made of wood. Lace iron scrollwork replaced the wooden pillars, fences, and railings. Later on, the Victorian addition of wrought iron and cast iron was used throughout the city.


Langles Bridge in the New Orleans City Park


The land along the remains of Bayou Metairie was designated as a public park in 1854. The Langles Bridge, pictured below, became one of three stone bridges found in the New Orleans City Park that was built around 1902. The bridge was dedicated to Angèle M. Langles after her estate gifted the park with $650. That amount is roughly equivalent to $20,000 today. 


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 2a3d9c6c3e54c686a3f451890da3f8c4
Photo Courtesy: [Infrogmation/Wikimedia Commons]


The New Orleans City Park saw several new attractions from 1897-1924. A carousel, a miniature train, and a golf course were added within the first five years. A racetrack came and went after only three years of being built in the park. The New Orleans Museum of Art called the "Isaac Delgado Museum of Art," was opened in 1911. Finally, the Irby swimming pool was created in 1924.


Oyster and Charcoal Luggers, New Orleans, 1910


New Orleans' oyster and charcoal luggers got their start from the early French settlers. They created specially-designed boats to easily navigate the waters of the Louisiana swamps. The original boats were known as “French canots.” This design took off, as it made trading along the Mississippi River more profitable. Because of this, luggers were a common sight in the waters around New Orleans during the late 1800s and early 1900s.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 85555d6ef7053403713f9a1d28423c31
Photo Courtesy: [Detroit Publishing Co./Library of Congress]


The most distinguishing characteristic of these boats was their "lug rigs.” Brightly-colored canvas sails were mounted at sharp angles to a boom and tethered loosely to a single mast. The name for these iconic ships, "luggers," was actually thought to originate from the Dutch word “logger," meaning "trawling." That was the nautical term for the boats' specialized sails.


Luling Mansion, Louisiana Jockey Club, 1998


Architect James Gallier Jr. designed the lavish Luling Mansion for German cotton merchant, Florence Luling. With 22 rooms and 30 landscaped acres, the sprawling home was completed in 1866. The Luling family only lived in their Italianate-style mansion for a few years. They sold it to the Louisiana Jockey Club in 1872 before moving to Europe.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * D4ee20a03bef7371951e78d2fe4a1c60
Photo Courtesy: [Mark Souther/Wikimedia Commons]


The club had just purchased the nearby Creole Race Track and opened it as the "Fairgrounds Race Track" that same year. The Luling mansion became their headquarters, and they used the mansion and grounds to host "extravagant cocktail parties, banquets, and masquerade balls in flamboyant New Orleans style." The Louisiana Jockey Club stayed at the former Luling Mansion for 33 years before selling it themselves. After that, the grounds were divided up into smaller sections and the main building became an apartment complex.


The Napoleon House in New Orleans, circa 1900-1906


The Napoleon House has been called "one of the best examples of a large French colonial townhouse in the country, with a hipped roof, dormers, segmental pediments, an octagonal cupola with views of the river, shallow balconies and elliptical windows." There is a popular New Orleans legend that Mayor Girod, Jean Lafitte, Captain St. Ange Bossiere, Dominique You, and other Napoleon supporters planned to rescue the French statesman and military leader from his exile in Elba. They were supposedly going to hide him in the Girod home, where he could safely live out the rest of his life.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * A69eb98e678fbf36492f26800b5df197
Photo Courtesy: [Detroit Publishing Co./American Memory/Prints and Photographs Division/Library of Congress]


The plan was not successful. Mayor Girod resigned from his position due to financial difficulties. Napoleon Bonaparte was able to escape the island of Elba on March 1, 1815. However, he was recaptured and sent to Saint Helena in exile. 


Interior of the New Orleans Museum of Art


On December 16, 1911, the New Orleans Museum of Art opened, making it the city's oldest fine arts institution. Although there were only nine pieces of art in the museum when it opened, that number has since grown to over 40,000 objects. The art museum is thought of as one of the best of its kind in the South thanks to its longevity, continual growth and development, and its vast array of fine art.  


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * Db5827ff6a5ec23c13853296a067507a
Photo Courtesy: [Jami430/Wikimedia Commons]


The 200-year-old live oaks on the grounds add to the New Orleans Museum of Art's allure. The museum's Sydney and Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden is "one of the most renowned sculpture installations in the United States." The garden is home to 90 sculptures spread out over 11 acres of lush landscape.


Lafitte's Blacksmith Shop on Bourbon Street


Lafitte's Blacksmith Shop, on the corner of Bourbon Street and St. Philip Street, is one of the oldest surviving structures in New Orleans. The shop was thought to be a residence during the 1770s Spanish colonial period. In the early 19th century, this location was turned into a place of business by Jean Lafitte and his older brother, Pierre. They were rumored to be pirates using the blacksmith shop as a way to hide their illicit dealings. 


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 0586eab2881d6bafbae44e2b84d37798
Photo Courtesy: [Lobberich/Flickr/Wikimedia Commons]


Despite their reputation as pirates, the Lafitte brothers aided General Andrew Jackson in winning the Battle of New Orleans on January 8, 1815. President Madison issued a Proclamation, granting a full pardon to Jean Lafitte and the Baratarians, on February 6, 1815. He was so impressed by their part in defending New Orleans that he said, "Offenders, who have refused to become the associates of the enemy in the war, upon the most seducing terms of invitation; and who have aided to repel his hostile invasion of the territory of the United States; can no longer be considered as objects of punishment, but as objects of a generous forgiveness.”


Restored Lakefront Airport Interior, New Orleans


Leon C. Weiss and his firm Weiss, Dreyfous, and Seiferth designed the Lakefront Airport under the orders of Huey Long in 1929. The vision for the construction of the airport was for it to become "the Air Hub of the Americas." Weiss' Art Deco style for the Lakefront Airport was considered a "wonder of architecture and decor" for its time.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 70eb40fe47f14c022674653655a8510a
Photo Courtesy: [Sandra Cohen-Rose/Colin Rose/colros/Flickr/Wikimedia Commons]


The 1973 James Bond film, Live and Let Die, was filmed on the 473-acre property. More recently, in 2011, the Lakefront Airport became part of the set for The Green Lantern. This time-honored place continues to be a choice location for showcasing displays and entertainment. As of 2014, the airport has hosted the WWII Air, Sea & Land Festival. 


New Orleans' Mercedes-Benz Superdome and Smoothie King Center


The Mercedes-Benz Superdome is one of the major tourist destinations of the United States. It also served as the inspiration for some very unusual models. One individual created a replica of the Superdome out of sugar. The other, consisting of 2,697 pennies, was on exhibit at the Philadelphia Bicentennial '76 exhibition.

The Superdome made history when its groundbreaking was passed by legislation in 1966. At the time, it was agreed upon with the largest margin Louisiana had ever seen. On December 31, 1975, the structure achieved another first. The Sugar Bowl was hosted there with over 75,000 spectators in attendance. A few years later, on January 15, 1978, the first Super Bowl was played in the Superdome. Since those early years, baseball, basketball, boxing, gymnastics, wrestling, and tennis events have all been held within its 70 acres of land.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * B825fff437205acf51592a441122f532
Photo Courtesy: [Jacinta Quesada/Wikimedia Commons]


The Smoothie King Center was completed in 1999. It went without a corporate name for its first decade of use, going by the name "New Orleans Arena." The center has been the home of the New Orleans Pelicans, an NBA team, since 2002.

The Smoothie King Center is located in the Central Business District, on the 55-acre space of the Louisiana Stadium and Exposition District. People have called the arena "the largest state-of-the-art venue of its size in the region." It has housed "headlining concerts, NBA games, premier sporting events, general sessions, and private receptions" over the years.


Creole Queen Paddle Steamer


The Creole Queen is a paddle wheeler riverboat that began its service along the Mississippi River in September of 1983. With three private dining rooms, the riverboat is said to have "the largest indoor capacity available on excursion vessels in New Orleans." Captain Brian Clesi docks the Creole Queen at the Poydras Street dock adjacent to the Riverwalk and New Orleans Hilton Riverside and Towers.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 46a256f1112a295351f699126af31018
Photo Courtesy: [MusikAnimal/Wikimedia Commons]


The "Historic Cruise" takes passengers on a journey spanning 300 years of New Orleans' history. A local historical guide weaves tales of the LeMoyne brothers founding the city, the expansion of the French Quarters, the Louisiana Purchase, and the Battle of New Orleans. National Park Rangers give visitors an hour-long guided tour and talk at the site of the battle. Passengers are also treated to a visit to the Jean Lafitte National Historical Park and the Chalmette Battlefield while enjoying their cruise.


Marie Laveau, New Orleans' "Voodoo Queen"


Although Marie Laveau's House of Voodoo was founded in 1988, the "Voodoo Queen" herself was born September 10, 1801. She was said to be a "woman of great beauty, intellect, and charisma who was also pious, charitable, and a skilled herbal healer" by newspapers after she passed away. Those writing about her as such included The New York TimesThe New Orleans Daily Picayune, and the Daily States, among others. Her legend is said to be as mysterious as it is timeless.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * 6f7f115817c3c6774fd8771f0c5b5e6a
Photo Courtesy: [Riselys N./Yelp]


Louisiana Voodoo, also known as "New Orleans Voodoo" or "Mississippi Valley Voodoo," differs from Haitian Vodou and Deep Southern Hoodoo. It is where the terms "gris-gris" and "Voodoo doll" originate. Louisiana Voodoo was first practiced in New Orleans around 1719. Knowledge of herbs, poisons, and the ritual creation of charms and amulets became central to what Louisiana Voodoo is known for.

Marie Catherine Laveau Paris Glapion is the most famous practitioner in New Orleans history. She was said to mix Roman Catholic saints with African spirits and Native American Spiritualism. The wealthy and politically affluent were known to pay for her "personal advice, intervention in some situation, and protection against any evil energy that might have been placed against them." 


Loading a Barge with Grain, Port of New Orleans, 1976


The Port of New Orleans motto is "Exceeding the Needs of Tomorrow." They have been dedicated to fulfilling their vision since May 2, 1803, when the U.S. bought the territory of Louisiana from France. Americans in the Ohio Basin had voiced their need for the port to President Thomas Jefferson in 1798. 

The Louisiana Purchase came about as a result of the Port of New Orleans' importance to American life. Spain had denied U.S. ships the usage of the port after the Pinckney Treaty, which allowed agricultural goods to be deposited there, expired. With the aid of French nobleman Pierre Samuel du Pont de Nemours, President Jefferson was able to strike a deal with Napoleon, ensuring American trade in the port once again.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * Adb3b3ad9d7db2288e9a0cb8ad5fd3e2
Photo Courtesy: [U.S. Department of Agriculture/Wikimedia Commons]


The Public Grain Elevator began operating in 1940, with 18 new wharves constructed since 1903. This photo of a barge serving the New Orleans' grain industry was taken on October 7, 1976. Flat-bottomed boats have been in use from approximately when the Greek term "baris," meaning "Egyptian boat," was first used.


Mulate's Cajun Restaurant


Mulate’s Restaurant is dubbed the “King of Cajun Dine and Dance halls” and trademarked as the “Original Cajun Restaurant.” Known throughout the world, this eatery has made a name for itself since it was established in 1980. It is a place where people go to experience and celebrate Cajun heritage through authentic cuisine, live music, and dancing, every day of the week.


INFO VINE *   50 Photos of New Orleans' History * F9149ea27b089504fee47fd86ccb0607
Photo Courtesy: [Austin Kirk/Wikimedia Commons]


Musicians like Richard and Michael Doucet, Zachary Richard, Octa Clark, and Hector Duhon played a part in putting Mulate’s on the map internationally. When New Orleans hosted the World’s Fair in 1984, Kerry Boutté launched his restaurant’s notoriety off even better than before. He invited tour bus operators to enjoy what the Cajun food and atmosphere at Mulate’s was capable of providing. Word spread quickly. With the help of magazine and newspaper features, as well as more than 100 tour buses filled with eager customers, business boomed.

Kerry Boutté’s restaurant also became renowned for its décor. The works of local artists cover the walls and add another way for Cajun heritage to be celebrated. Years after the 1984 World’s Fair, Mulate’s continued to thrive. It went on to be voted “New Orleans’ Best Cajun Restaurant” by “Gambit Weekly, Best of New Orleans.”
Paul
Paul
Admin
Admin

Posts : 39889
Join date : 2013-05-06

https://www.valleyofthesuncc.com

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum